3 years later…

Last year at this time I wrote this post called 2 years ago and weaving and today it is three years.  Here is the short version of what happened:

It was three years ago that I had a normal meeting with my boss and a man who I considered a dear personal friend and he looked at me and said “You have six months to find another job”.  I do not want to go into detail on all of what transpired but I want you to know that there was no moral failure nor any failure on my part at all.  Let me put though into perspective a couple of things.  One is that I had planned to stay at this place for a long time and had many talks with my boss about me being there long term and even a few weeks before this happened.  Another thing is that my wife and I 11 months earlier  bought our first home after 16 years of marriage and it was a dream home for us.  For us before the news – life was going great and when the news came – it seemed like everything came crashing down upon us.

We had the six months hanging over our head and it was a tough thing to deal with.  We had to think about things we were not ready for.  We had to think about contingency plans for if I did not get another job. What were we going to do with a home that we had no equity in that we needed to sell. How were we going to explain this to our young son but even harder our teenage daughter.  There were a lot of blanks to fill in and we did not know how they were going to be filled in.  All my wife and I knew at the time this all went down was that we had God and that we each other to get through it.

You see through it all God provided for us in a mighty way.  It did not always seem like it – there were many sleepless nights and a lot of tears as well as just plain crying out to God.  There was much concern and prayer about what would happen to us and where we would land.  In a situation where someone made a choice that changed our lives God has helped to move us forward.  I am reminded of the quote from the movie Rocky Balboa –“It ain’t about how hard you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much can you take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!”  The only way we kept and keep moving forward is and was God and like I said – God provided a ministry and it is awesome.

There is still the house – we tried to sell it and it did not sell.  We then rented it for a year and it ate away all our savings because the rent was less than the mortgage.  Then we tried to short sell after the renters moved out and it the short sale got denied by the mortgage company.  We then did a deed in lieu which is basically giving the house back to the bank.  We thought we were finished with it but then found out the negotiator we were working with at the mortgage company quit and our case had to be completely redone.  During that time we thought it was finished we stopped paying HOA fee – that will make sense in  a moment.  We then find out that we have to go through the whole process again – the house just sitting in a another state!  The mortgage company realizing that they are at fault promised to pay the back HOA fees and fix our credit because we ended up with 11 more month of bad credit due to their error.  Two days before Christmas I get served with papers saying I am being sued by the HOA for the back fees.  The house is now been finally given back the bank but the HOA fees are unpaid and the credit is not fixed.   I spent hours yesterday trying to get it all taken care of and still no resolution.  So I share that with you to say please pray that it all gets taken care of very soon.

I can see in all of it how God has used this terrible situation to grow us.  To strengthen us.  To mold us.  I am blessed to be a part of the church family I am.  I am blessed beyond measure.  There are many positives to this story even though it is and has been a tough thing for us.  Here a few of the positive:  My wife and I were blessed to move to where we are at now and we love it.  We love the church, the people, the community, and to be honest, God has blessed us beyond measure.  We have seen spiritual revival in our own lives and in the church we are serving.   God has weaved a whole lot of good into this terrible situation.  I do not believe that God caused all this – I believe it was the choice of my boss  and simply life –  but I do believe that God is able to take it and use it in my life as well as the lives of others.  God is always good!

Romans 8:28 – And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called  according to His purpose.

What good is God weaving into tough situations in your life?  How can I pray for you?

8 thoughts on “3 years later…

  1. Wow. What a crazy story. Proof right there that America is broken.

    I’m always physically sick, and there’s no cure for that, but God teaches me through it anyway. If you think of it, you could pray for my healing, or at least for me not to get worse.

  2. Jim, I will pray for you about this situation, that it get resolved once and for all in your favor and that the mortgage company live up to its word to pay those fees.

    I just went through something similar re: the job. I had a contract with a nonprofit that was finishing its third year. I was reassured by the director that I would be continuing (I raised a lot of money for them and managed two successful programs I created). Without any warning she ended my contract one day while I there for a staff meeting. Talk about a shock. It hurt me personally, professionally and financially. One week later she hired me back to manage one of my programs (to finish it up as funding is ending). So I have been going through a similar thing waiting for the next work to be in place. Quite honestly I was wanting to be done there because the place had a negative culture (and oddly the ringleader of this quit just after Christmas) but normally I put things in place first. So….trusting God that He has a plan, whether this was His hand or not. He can use anything, even a donkey.

    • Tough with the Job Liz – sorry to hear about it. It is hard being someplace that you do not feel wanted – it was hard for the 6 months I was at the job waiting to find another one to move on to. Praying that God directs you to right where you need to be. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  3. WOW, thanks for sharing. It’s a post that can be retitled “HOPE” :)

    Whenever I get frustrated with the way things go, I keep thinking of the fact that one day, I’ll be able to look back, like you did in this post, and say “God has brought me to a place where I need to be – and He used those circumstances.”

    • Hope is a great title Zee! One of the things that amazes me most about God that he can use any situation! Thanks for reading and commenting!

  4. So many things go through my mind my friend. It was about 3 years ago that we met for the first time via the blogs. Seems crazy it has been that long. But most importantly, this is a testimony to the goodness and plan of God. You are where you are now because of Him. I have no doubt about that. I pray for you all every day and will continue. I now know a more specific way to pray. Thanks for your testimony my friend.

Leave a Reply

